Is becoming a certified crop advisor right for me?

The first step to choosing a career is to make sure you are actually willing to commit to pursuing the career. You don’t want to waste your time doing something you don’t want to do. If you’re new here, you should read about:

What do certified crop advisors do?
What are certified crop advisors like?

Still unsure if becoming a certified crop advisor is the right career path? to find out if this career is right for you. Perhaps you are well-suited to become a certified crop advisor or another similar career!

Described by our users as being “shockingly accurate”, you might discover careers you haven’t thought of before.

How to become a Certified Crop Advisor

Certified crop advisors follow a strict code of ethics to ensure they put the farmer's needs ahead of their own for the best possible outcome. Every jurisdiction has its own requirements for getting certified.

There are four steps to becoming a certified crop advisor: 

  • Gain the minimum requirement of experience. Typically someone who wants to be a CCA must have a bachelor’s degree in agriculture and have at least two years experience working in crop advising. Without a degree, it usually takes four years of relevant experience to gain certification.

  • Pass a series of international/provincial exams. A certified crop advisor must have knowledge in areas such as soil and water management, nutrient management, crop management, and integrated pest management. 

  • Signed code of ethics. Every certified crop advisor must abide by a strict code of ethics and exercise due diligence when making recommendations.

  • Continue eduction. Because agriculture changes so rapidly, crop advisors must take 40 hours of continued education every two years.