Is becoming a healthcare social worker right for me?

The first step to choosing a career is to make sure you are actually willing to commit to pursuing the career. You don’t want to waste your time doing something you don’t want to do. If you’re new here, you should read about:

What do healthcare social workers do?
Career Satisfaction
Are healthcare social workers happy with their careers?
What are healthcare social workers like?

Still unsure if becoming a healthcare social worker is the right career path? to find out if this career is right for you. Perhaps you are well-suited to become a healthcare social worker or another similar career!

Described by our users as being “shockingly accurate”, you might discover careers you haven’t thought of before.

How to become a Healthcare Social Worker

Becoming a healthcare social worker involves a combination of education, practical experience, and licensure to provide professional support to patients and families in healthcare settings. Here's a step-by-step guide on how to pursue a career as a healthcare social worker:

  • Bachelor's Degree: Start by earning a Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) degree from an accredited institution. A BSW provides foundational knowledge in social work principles, human behavior, and societal systems.
  • Master's Degree: While a BSW can lead to some entry-level positions, obtaining a Master of Social Work (MSW) degree from an accredited graduate program is generally required for advanced roles in healthcare social work. An MSW program includes specialized coursework, field placements, and hands-on training specific to healthcare settings.
  • Internships and Field Placements: Both BSW and MSW programs typically include supervised field placements or internships. These experiences provide opportunities to apply classroom knowledge in real-world healthcare settings and develop practical skills under the guidance of experienced social workers.
  • Licensure Requirements: Healthcare social workers must obtain a state social work license to practice legally. Licensing requirements vary by state but typically involve completing an accredited social work program, gaining supervised clinical experience, and passing a licensing exam.
  • Clinical Social Work License: Some healthcare social workers pursue a clinical social work license (LCSW or equivalent) to provide therapy and counseling services. Clinical licensure requires additional supervised clinical experience beyond the standard licensure requirements.
  • Healthcare Social Work Certification: While not mandatory, obtaining certification from the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) or other relevant organizations can enhance your credentials. The NASW offers the Certified Social Worker in Health Care (C-SWHC) credential, which demonstrates expertise in healthcare social work.
  • Choose a Healthcare Focus: As you progress in your education and career, consider specializing in a specific area of healthcare social work, such as geriatrics, oncology, palliative care, or mental health. Specialization allows you to develop expertise in addressing the unique needs of particular patient populations.
  • Join Professional Associations: Join professional organizations such as the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) and their respective healthcare-related sections. Networking with experienced professionals and attending conferences can help you stay updated on industry trends and opportunities.
  • Search for Job Opportunities: Begin your job search by exploring positions in hospitals, clinics, hospice centers, long-term care facilities, rehabilitation centers, and other healthcare settings. Utilize online job boards, professional networks, and connections made during internships to identify potential opportunities. Continuing Education:
  • Stay Updated: Healthcare is an evolving field, and staying informed about new treatments, regulations, and best practices is essential. Participate in continuing education workshops, webinars, and courses to expand your knowledge and skills.

Healthcare social workers often pursue certifications to demonstrate their expertise and commitment to the field. While a formal certification is not always mandatory for employment, it can enhance job prospects and open doors to advanced career opportunities. Here are some notable certifications available for healthcare social workers:

  • Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW)
    Issued by: State licensing boards
    Requirements: MSW degree from a Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) accredited program, supervised clinical experience (typically 2-3 years post-MSW), and passing the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Clinical Level Exam.
    Scope: Allows social workers to diagnose and treat mental health disorders, provide psychotherapy, and work in private practice.
  • Certified Social Work Case Manager (C-SWCM)
    Issued by: National Association of Social Workers (NASW)
    Requirements: MSW degree, documented professional experience in case management, adherence to NASW Code of Ethics, and passing the NASW Case Management Specialty Practice Section Exam.
    Scope: Focuses on case management in healthcare settings, emphasizing patient advocacy and coordination of care.
  • Certified Advanced Children, Youth, and Family Social Worker (C-ACYFSW)
    Issued by: NASW
    Requirements: MSW degree, documented professional experience in children, youth, and family social work, adherence to NASW Code of Ethics, and passing the NASW Children, Youth, and Family Specialty Practice Section Exam.
    Scope: Specializes in social work services related to children, youth, and families, addressing issues like child welfare, adoption, and family dynamics.
  • Certified Hospice and Palliative Social Worker (CHP-SW)
    Issued by: National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization (NHPCO)
    Requirements: MSW degree, documented professional experience in hospice and palliative social work, and passing the CHP-SW Exam.
    Scope: Focused on providing social work services within hospice and palliative care settings, offering support to patients and their families facing life-limiting illnesses.
  • Advanced Certified Hospice and Palliative Social Worker (ACHP-SW)
    Issued by: NHPCO
    Requirements: CHP-SW certification, additional years of documented professional experience in hospice and palliative social work, and passing the ACHP-SW Exam.
    Scope: Recognizes advanced expertise in hospice and palliative social work, indicating a higher level of experience and knowledge in the field.