Is becoming a mental health counselor right for me?

The first step to choosing a career is to make sure you are actually willing to commit to pursuing the career. You don’t want to waste your time doing something you don’t want to do. If you’re new here, you should read about:

What do mental health counselors do?
Career Satisfaction
Are mental health counselors happy with their careers?
What are mental health counselors like?

Still unsure if becoming a mental health counselor is the right career path? to find out if this career is right for you. Perhaps you are well-suited to become a mental health counselor or another similar career!

Described by our users as being “shockingly accurate”, you might discover careers you haven’t thought of before.

How to become a Mental Health Counselor

Becoming a mental health counselor typically involves completing a specific educational and licensing process. Here is a detailed overview of the steps involved:

  • Obtain a Bachelor's Degree: Start by earning a Bachelor's Degree in Psychology or a related field. While specific undergraduate requirements may vary, it is important to focus on coursework related to psychology, human behavior, and social sciences.
  • Earn a Master's Degree: Pursue a Master's Degree in Counseling Psychology, Mental Health Counseling, or a closely related field. It is crucial to choose a program accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP) or an equivalent accrediting body. The master's program typically takes two to three years to complete.
  • Complete Practicum and Internship: As part of the master's program, students are typically required to complete supervised practicum and internship experiences. These placements allow students to gain hands-on experience in counseling settings and apply theoretical knowledge in real-world scenarios.
  • Meet State Licensing Requirements: Each state has its own licensing requirements for mental health counselors. Typically, these requirements include completing a certain number of supervised clinical hours and passing a licensing exam. Check with your state's licensing board or counseling association for specific requirements.
  • Gain Post-Master's Experience: After completing your degree and obtaining licensure, many states require a specific number of post-master's supervised clinical hours. This period allows you to gain practical experience under the guidance of a licensed professional.
  • Take the National Counselor Examination (NCE) or National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE): These are standardized exams administered by the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC). Passing the exam is often a requirement for state licensure.
  • Apply for State Licensure: Once you have met all the requirements, submit an application for licensure to your state's licensing board. The application process typically involves submitting transcripts, documentation of supervised experience, exam scores, and fees.
  • Continued Professional Development: As a mental health counselor, it is important to engage in ongoing professional development to stay updated with the latest research, trends, and best practices in the field. This can involve attending workshops, conferences, and continuing education courses.

Mental health counselors have the option to pursue voluntary certifications to enhance their professional credentials and demonstrate their specialized knowledge and skills. Some of the notable certifications for mental health counselors include:

  • National Certified Counselor (NCC): Offered by the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC), the NCC certification is a widely recognized credential for counselors. It demonstrates that the counselor has met the educational, examination, and ethical standards established by the NBCC.
  • Certified Clinical Mental Health Counselor (CCMHC): The CCMHC certification, also provided by the NBCC, is specifically tailored for clinical mental health counselors. It signifies that the counselor has met additional requirements related to clinical experience and specialized training in clinical mental health counseling.
  • Certified Rehabilitation Counselor (CRC): The CRC certification is offered by the Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification (CRCC). It is designed for counselors specializing in the field of rehabilitation counseling, which focuses on assisting individuals with disabilities in achieving personal, social, and vocational goals.
  • Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC): The CADC certification is granted by various state-specific organizations or boards. It is intended for counselors who specialize in addiction counseling and have met specific education, supervised experience, and examination requirements related to substance abuse counseling.
  • Certified Grief Counselor (CGC): The CGC certification is provided by the American Academy of Grief Counseling (AAGC). It recognizes counselors who have completed specialized training and demonstrated expertise in grief counseling, helping individuals cope with loss and bereavement.
  • Specialty Certifications: There are additional specialty certifications available in specific areas of counseling, such as marriage and family therapy, play therapy, trauma counseling, and others. These certifications are typically offered by specialized professional organizations and require meeting specific criteria related to education, experience, and training within the respective specialty.