Is becoming an IT support specialist right for me?

The first step to choosing a career is to make sure you are actually willing to commit to pursuing the career. You don’t want to waste your time doing something you don’t want to do. If you’re new here, you should read about:

What do IT support specialists do?
Career Satisfaction
Are IT support specialists happy with their careers?
What are IT support specialists like?

Still unsure if becoming an IT support specialist is the right career path? to find out if this career is right for you. Perhaps you are well-suited to become an IT support specialist or another similar career!

Described by our users as being “shockingly accurate”, you might discover careers you haven’t thought of before.

How to become an IT Support Specialist

Becoming an IT support specialist requires a combination of education, technical skills, certifications, work experience, industry knowledge, and networking. To become an IT support specialist, you can follow these steps:

  • Obtain a High School Diploma or Equivalent: Most entry-level IT support positions require a high school diploma or equivalent qualification, such as a General Educational Development (GED) certificate.
  • Gain Technical Skills and Knowledge: Develop a strong foundation in computer systems, networks, hardware, and software by taking relevant courses in high school or through self-study. Familiarize yourself with operating systems (such as Windows and macOS), productivity software (such as Microsoft Office), and basic troubleshooting techniques.
  • Earn a Degree or Certification: While not always required, obtaining a degree or certification in information technology or a related field can enhance your qualifications and job prospects. Consider pursuing an Associate Degree in Information Technology, Computer Science, or a related field from a community college or technical school. Alternatively, you can earn industry-recognized certifications such as CompTIA A+, Network+, or Microsoft Certified: Modern Desktop Administrator Associate (see below).
  • Gain Practical Experience: Look for opportunities to gain practical experience in IT support roles through internships, part-time jobs, or volunteer work. Many organizations offer entry-level positions or internships for individuals interested in pursuing a career in IT support. Use these opportunities to develop your technical skills, customer service skills, and problem-solving abilities.
  • Develop Soft Skills: In addition to technical skills, IT support specialists need strong communication, interpersonal, and customer service skills. Practice effective communication, active listening, and empathy when interacting with end-users to understand their technical issues and provide solutions in a clear and understandable manner.
  • Stay Updated with Technology: The field of information technology is constantly evolving, so it's essential to stay updated with the latest trends, technologies, and industry developments. Continuously seek opportunities for professional development, attend workshops, webinars, and conferences, and pursue additional certifications to enhance your skills and knowledge.
  • Apply for Entry-Level Positions: Once you feel confident in your skills and qualifications, start applying for entry-level IT support positions at organizations that align with your career goals and interests. Tailor your resume and cover letter to highlight your relevant experience, skills, and certifications, and be prepared to demonstrate your technical abilities during interviews.

There are several certifications that IT support specialists can pursue to enhance their skills, knowledge, and job prospects. Some of the most recognized certifications for IT support specialists include:

  • CompTIA A+: Widely considered the industry standard for entry-level IT professionals, the CompTIA A+ certification validates foundational skills in computer hardware, software, networking, and troubleshooting.
  • CompTIA Network+: Designed for professionals involved in managing, maintaining, and troubleshooting networks, the CompTIA Network+ certification covers topics such as network architecture, protocols, security, and troubleshooting.
  • CompTIA Security+: Focuses on cybersecurity principles and best practices, the CompTIA Security+ certification validates knowledge and skills in identifying security threats, implementing security controls, and responding to security incidents.
  • Microsoft Certified: Modern Desktop Administrator Associate: This certification is designed for IT professionals who deploy, configure, secure, manage, and monitor devices and client applications in an enterprise environment using Windows 10.
  • Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician (CCENT): Offered by Cisco Systems, the CCENT certification validates foundational networking knowledge and skills, including network fundamentals, LAN switching technologies, routing technologies, and infrastructure services.
  • ITIL Foundation: Focuses on IT service management best practices, the ITIL Foundation certification provides a comprehensive understanding of key concepts, principles, and processes related to managing IT services and delivering value to customers.
  • HDI Desktop Support Technician (HDI-DST): Specifically designed for desktop support professionals, the HDI-DST certification validates knowledge and skills in providing technical support to end-users, troubleshooting desktop hardware and software issues, and delivering excellent customer service.
  • Google IT Support Professional Certificate: Developed by Google in partnership with Coursera, this certificate program covers essential skills and concepts for entry-level IT support roles, including troubleshooting, customer service, networking, operating systems, system administration, and security.